Dr. Nancy Mendenhall Receives the UF College of Medicine’s 2018 Clinical Science Research Award

Clinical Science Research AwardDr. Nancy P. Mendenhall, FASTRO, was awarded the 2018 Clinical Science Research Award during the College of Medicine Spring Faculty Appreciation Reception on April 4 (shown left, with Michael L. Good,MD, Dean of the University Of Florida College of Medicine).

The Clinical Science Research Award is given annually to recognize a faculty member for outstanding achievement, productivity, and research discovery. In addition, the recipient’s research must have a close connection with clinical medicine and/or a significant impact on the delivery of patient care.

Dr. Mendenhall is the Associate Chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology and Medical Director of the UF Health Proton Therapy Institute. She has more than 30 years of experience and specializes in the areas of breast cancer, Hodgkin disease, lymphomas and pediatric cancers, as well as prostate cancer.

Dr. Mendenhall’s primary focus for the past 11 years has been pioneering the expansion of the use of proton therapy. Prior to assuming her current role as the Medical Director for the University of Florida Health Proton Therapy Institute (UFHPTI) in 2006, she was an outstanding radiation oncologist and Department Chair for Radiation Oncology at the College and the first female Chair in the College‚Äôs history.




U.S. News and World Report

Nationally ranked in 6 adult specialties and 6 pediatric specialties and rated high performing in 4 adult specialties and 5 procedures and conditions.