More than 150 Professionals Attend a Successful 54th Annual UF Radiation Oncology Seminar

The 54th Annual UF Radiation Oncology Research SeminarMore than 150 physicians, oncology nurses, research coordinators, radiation therapists, dosimetrists and other professionals in the field of radiation oncology attended the 54th Annual UF Radiation Oncology Research Seminar, held February 23, 2024 at the UF Hilton Conference Center, Gainesville.

The one-day seminar featured two concurrent programs: the Radiation Therapists’ and Oncology Nursing Seminar and the Radiation Oncology Research Seminar. Presentations featured clinical research by UF faculty, staff, and residents in the treatment of head and neck cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, gynecological cancer, and pediatric cancer. View the full agendas here.

Keynote speaker was Steven J. Frank, MD, Bessie McGoldrick Professor in Clinical Research at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Frank is the Executive Director of the Particle Therapy Institute and Deputy Head of Strategy for the Division of Radiation Oncology.

Dr. Frank offered insight into proton therapy’s emergence as a standard of care treatment approach for head and neck malignancies and MRI-assisted radiosurgery in radiation oncology.

A special multidisciplinary Head and Neck Cancer Panel Discussion delved into the subject of “HPV positive oropharyngeal cancer: The impact of NavDx, state of data, current and future diagnoses, and treatment approaches” with renowned experts Steven J. Frank, MD; William Mendenhall, MD; Peter T Dziegielewski, MD, FRCSC, FACS; Glenn J. Hanna, MD: Robert Amdur, MD; and Mihir R. Patel, MD.

The department also recognized the achievements of its dedicated and talented faculty and staff during the event with the following awards:

  • Twyla Willoughby, PhD, FAAPM, Medical Physicist and Assistant Professor, received the 2024 UFHPTI Medical Physics Clinical Award, and Guanghua Yan, PhD, Assistant Professor and Associate Director of the Physics Residency Program, was given the 2024 Gainesville Medical Physics Clinical Award. Both recognize medical physicists who exemplify patient-centered delivery of cancer care through their interactions with the radiation oncology team.
  • Alex De Leo, MD, Assistant Professor, received the 2024 Basic Research Education Award, which recognizes a research faculty member who provides outstanding educational opportunities to graduate and/or postdoctoral students.
  • William Mendenhall, MD, Professor, was given the 2024 Transformative Medicine Award, which recognizes translational science investigators and clinicians epitomizing innovative and collaborative efforts to accelerate the transition of scientific discoveries into new cancer therapies. The award seeks to recognize translational researchers (team or individual) leading to improved therapies, new discoveries, and significant contributions to the body of knowledge regarding radiation oncology.

The 55th annual Research Seminar will take place February 28, 2025 – more details to follow!


U.S. News and World Report

Nationally ranked in 6 adult specialties and 6 pediatric specialties and rated high performing in 4 adult specialties and 5 procedures and conditions.