Visit UF Radiation Oncology!

Fall 2019

ACRO Seed Grant Awarded to Radiation Oncology Resident Akash Parekh, MD

ACRO Seed Grant Awarded to Radiation Oncology Resident

Akash Parekh, MD, a Third Year Radiation Oncology Physician Resident (shown right), has been chosen to receive an American College of Radiation Oncology (ACRO) Seed Grant, one of only four such projects funded by ACRO this year.

OncLive Video Features Dr. Randal Henderson

Randal H. Henderson, MD, MBA, Radiation Oncology Professor and Associate Medical Director, University of Florida Health Proton Therapy Institute, recently discussed the use of proton therapy in the treatment of prostate cancer with OncLive TV.

Research by Chief Resident Receives Top Honors from ASTRO’s ROI

A manuscript by UF Radiation Oncology Chief Resident Dr. James Bates scored among the top three articles submitted for the ASTRO 2019 Radiation Oncology Institute (ROI) Publication Award.

UF Health Shands Ranks among Nation’s Best in Seven Specialties

The University of Florida Health Shands Hospital ranks among the nation’s elite in seven adult medical specialties in U.S. News & World Report’s 2019-20 “Best Hospitals” report released this summer.

Dr. Amdur is named Educator of the Year

Faculty & Staff News

Dr. Dietmar Siemann and Dr. Nancy Mendenhall presented Grand Rounds Lectures this fall. Dr. Siemann's presentation, “Cancer Metastasis: Issues and Challenges”, and Dr. Nancy's talk, “Proton Therapy: Promise and Proof", were part of the UFHCC Oncology Grand Rounds Seminar Series.

R. Charles Nichols, Jr., MD, Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology at the UF Health Proton Therapy Institute (UFHPTI), and UFHPTI's Daniel J. Indelicato, MD, Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology and Director of the UF pediatric radiotherapy program, recently celebrated their ten-year anniversary with UF, while Professor Randal Henderson, MD, MBA, Associate Medical Director of UFHPTI, marked 20 years of service.

UF Health Proton Therapy Institute faculty received three awards during the Resident Graduation Ceremony in Gainesville on May 18, 2019: Dr. Ronny Rotondo was recognized with the Medical Student and Community Education Award; Dr. Soon Huh received the Medical Physics Education Award; and Dr. Xiaoying Liang (shown upper leftreceived the Medical Physics Clinical Award. Congratulations all!  Read more UFHPTI news and announcements in the institute's online Precision Newsletter.

UF Radiation Oncology Research

The International Journal or Radiation Oncology, Biology, Physics named UF Radiation Oncology residents the second-most published residents of any US radiation oncology residency program. This high level of engagement in research remains one of the most important goals of our department

UF Radiation Oncology has over 70 Outcome and Clinical Trials openReview the latest Radiation Oncology Department research here. To learn more about clinical studies, visit our Clinical Studies pages. To browse our collection of published research by UF Radiation Oncologists, visit our NCBI bibliography.

Join the 50th annual Radiation Oncology Research Seminar

Upcoming Events: A special 50th Research Seminar and the annual Benefit Golf Tournament

The 15th Annual Play Golf. Fight Cancer.® Classic to benefit the proton research program at the UF Health Proton Therapy Institute will take place October 21, 2019 at the World Golf Village, St. Augustine, Florida. Registration for individual players is still open and multiple sponsorship opportunities are still available. Call 904-588-1423 to speak to the sponsorship director or email

The 50th Radiation Oncology Research Seminar, slated February 21-22, 2020, will feature a special anniversary reception at the Harn Museum of Art and three concurrent programs: the Radiation Therapists’ Seminar, the Oncology Nursing Seminar, and the Radiation Oncology Research Seminar. More information is forthcoming - mark your calendars! Keynote Speaker will be Paul M. Harari, MD, FASTRO. Dr. Harari is the current Chair of the ASTRO Board of Directors and the Jack Fowler Professor and Chairman of the Department of Human Oncology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.

Support the fund of your choice.

Honor 50 Years of Radiation Oncology Education and Assist Future Residents

Opportunities for supporting the Department of Radiation Oncology are many; in doing so you will continue to strengthen one of the best academic radiation oncology programs in the country. We invite you to become a part of our life-changing work by assisting research efforts, providing cutting-edge equipment, or giving to the fund of your choice.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Radiation Oncology Residency program, one of the oldest in the United States. Seed Grants, Professorships, Continuing Education and Scholarships are the building blocks of research and education at UF. Your involvement will help our students excel, our researchers break new ground in the treatment of disease, and our faculty and alumni to continue providing extraordinary care and service. 

To find out more, visit our partnership page, or contact Diane Gebhardt, 352-265-8470,


Department of Radiation Oncology | 2000 SW Archer Road | Gainesville, FL 32610