UF Professor Receives Robert A. Winn Diversity in Clinical Trials Career Development Award

Raymond Mailhot Vega, MD, MPHUF Radiation Oncology Clinical Associate Professor Raymond B. Mailhot, MD, MPH has received the prestigious Robert A. Winn Diversity in Clinical Trials Career Development Award (Winn CDA).

Only 65 physicians were selected to receive the Winn CDA, according to an October 18th announcement from Bristol Myers Squibb Foundation (BMS Foundation), Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU), the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), Gilead Sciences, Inc., and Amgen.

The Winn Award Program aims to train, develop and mentor more than 308 clinical trialists and 308 medical students by 2027 who are diverse or who have a demonstrated commitment to clinical trial diversity.

The 65 physicians were selected by an independent national review committee representing healthcare institutions in 20 states across the U.S. and Puerto Rico. The Winn CDA Scholars were chosen for their commitment to increasing diversity in clinical trials, and and bring expertise in the areas of cancer (hematologic or solid tumors), immunologic disorders and cardiovascular diseases.

A recipient of numerous distinguished awards and grants, Dr. Mailhot’s research focuses on outcomes related to radiation treatment in pediatric cancers, optimizing radiotherapy delivery for breast cancer, and improving radiation treatment options for lymphoma patients. He also carries out extensive research on the cost-effectiveness of radiation treatment and is a member of the RADCOMP (Radiotherapy Comparative Effectiveness) cost-effectiveness and financial toxicity workgroup. In addition, Dr. Maihot (shown above) works to both improve disparities in cancer care and promote diversity in patient care.

Read more about the 2023 Winn CDA award here.


U.S. News and World Report

Nationally ranked in 6 adult specialties and 6 pediatric specialties and rated high performing in 4 adult specialties and 5 procedures and conditions.