Dr. Raymond Mailhot Vega Receives the PTCOG61 2023 Young Investigator Award

Mailhot-Vega receives PTCOG61 Young Investigator awardA UF radiation oncology research team led by Raymond Mailhot Vega, MD, MPH has received the 2023 Particle Therapy Co-operative Group (PTCOG) Young Investigator Award.

The award was given in recognition of the abstract “Evaluating the cost-effectiveness of hypofractionated consolidative radiotherapy for mediastinal Hodgkin lymphoma”, which was submitted to this year’s PTCOG 61 Conference in Madrid, Spain. Dr. Maihot accepted the honor at the at the June 14 conference gala dinner (right).

Proton therapy has been shown to deliver lower cardiac doses for patients with mediastinal Hodgkin lymphoma. The team found proton therapy hypofractionated regimens to have lower mean heart dose cost-effective thresholds than conventional regimens, which could impact decision-making related to resource allocation for cardiac toxicity.

Dr. Mailhot is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology and a physician at the UF Health Proton Therapy Institute.


U.S. News and World Report

Nationally ranked in 6 adult specialties and 6 pediatric specialties and rated high performing in 4 adult specialties and 5 procedures and conditions.