2019 Medical Student, Medical Physics Awards Announced

Ronny Rotondo, MDThe Department of Radiation Oncology has announced the 2019 Medical Student and Community Education and Medical Physics Education awards for both the Gainesville and UF Health Proton Therapy Institute (UFHPTI, Jacksonville) teams.

Kathryn E. Hitchcock, MD, PhD Department of Radiation Oncology University of Florida Physician Radiation OncologistThe Medical Student and Community Education Award recognizes a clinician who provides outstanding educational opportunities and mentoring to medical students and/or community education and outreach. Kathryn Hitchcock, MD, PhD (shown right) received the Gainesville award, while Ronny Rotondo, MD (shown left), was chosen for the UFHPTI award.

The Medical Physics Education Award Recognizes a physicist who provides outstanding educational opportunities to graduate and/or postdoctoral students. Darren Kahler, PhD, from the Gainesville team, and Soon Huh, PhD, from UFHPTI, were recognized for their exceptional work in 2019.

The awards were announced during the Radiation Oncology Resident Graduation Dinner. Read more about the annual Department of Radiation Oncology Awards.


U.S. News and World Report

Nationally ranked in 6 adult specialties and 6 pediatric specialties and rated high performing in 4 adult specialties and 5 procedures and conditions.