Medical Physics PhD Student Wins the Lawrence T. Fitzgerald Award

Medical Physics Graduate Student Karl MundA PhD student in the UF Medical Physics Graduate Program received the prestigious 2019 Lawrence T. Fitzgerald Award at the Florida Chapter of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (FLAAPM) Annual Conference this spring.

Karl Mund received the award in recognition of the best student presentation for his work entitled, “Robustness Evaluation of a Neural Network-based Photon Beam Profile Deconvolution Method.”

The Florida Chapter of the AAPM is a regional chapter of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, serving medical physicists in Florida.

As a Lawrence T. Fitzgerald awardee, Karl has also been invited to participate in the MedPhys Slam competition at the National AAPM Conference in July 2019.


U.S. News and World Report

Nationally ranked in 6 adult specialties and 6 pediatric specialties and rated high performing in 4 adult specialties and 5 procedures and conditions.